Wrapping Up Meatless August

It’s September 1. Meatless August is over, done, finished, terminated. Here are my conclusions.

I could be a vegetarian. I probably won’t be a vegetarian. There are several reasons. As I thought about them over the last few days, here is where I find myself.

I didn’t feel significantly different going meatless than I did before. The only thing I really noticed was a decrease in night time indigestion. That tells me that I need to be more careful about when I eat meat and how much, not necessarily that I need to eliminate it.

Because I didn’t notice a big difference health-wise and because I don’t have ethical objections to eating meat, it comes down to a matter of what is more convenient. Eating vegetarian was too inconvenient. I had to think about every meal, especially when eating out. Eating became a chore.

Going vegetarian was a lot easier than eating a low-carb diet, which I have done. Being meatless for 30 days was much more tolerable than going carb-less. When you start looking at it, carbohydrates are everywhere. Potatoes, bread, pasta, rice, chocolate, potato chips. That was really a challenge and I often felt deprived on that diet. I can’t say I ever felt deprived by eliminating meat. I just didn’t see a commensurate benefit to giving up something I enjoy.

So the experiment is over. Tomorrow I’m having a hamburger,

Leave a Reply

