Dining Out

Pad Thai

Eating out can be a challenge for vegetarians. For the most part, in the United States restaurants center their meals around meat. There might be a vegetarian dish or two on the menu but your choices are restricted in most restaurants.

Oriental cuisine is one type where it’s possible to enjoy almost everything on the menu as a meatless dish. Last night we went to a Thai restaurant, Nuan’s Thai, where I ordered my standard Pad Thai. This time instead of having it with shrimp I chose tofu.  It was every bit as delicious as the meat version. By the way, let me give a shout out to Nuan’s Thai in Cottonwood Heights. Great food at very reasonable prices.

So I’ve completed three days of Meatless August, 10% down. I don’t feel deprived but I am starting to think about bacon. Wednesday night we had an ice cream social at our ward. A few of the guys were standing around talking about grilling and smoking and were passing around their phones with pictures of juicy meats cooking. All of a sudden my friend Travis said, “Oh, sorry Steve! I didn’t mean to torment you.” I had to laugh at that.

Leave a Reply

